Order the book

How the Internet Really Works
120 Pages | size 8" x 10" (ca. 20 x 25 cm)
No Starch Press, San Francisco
ISBN 9781718500297 (hardcover)
ISBN 9781718500303 (ebook)

No Starch Press
Amazon.com .uk .au .de .fr .it .nl
PenguinRandomHouse
Kobo ebooks
→ Or order at your local bookstore

Foreign language editions

News from Catnip

9 June 2022 Publication of French edition

10 May 2022 Publication of Polish edition

24 November 2021 Publication of German edition

9 June 2021, 7:45pm UTC (2:45pm in New York) Meet us at RightsCon 2021. Our session is called "Can you explain how the internet really works?"

12 March 2021 Interview with us about exclusion in tech

1 December 2020 Original publication date

30 October 2020, 4pm UTC (17h in Vienna) Comic reading at Privacyweek Vienna/Austria (video recording)

Thanks

We would like to thank all these wonderful people and institutions:

The authors: Ulrike Uhlig, Mallory Knodel, Niels ten Oever, and Corinne Cath. For ARTICLE 19: Mehwish Ansari, Vidushi Marda, Amelia Andersdotter, Collin Kurre, Sophie Hall. For No Starch Press: Bill Pollock, Barbara Yien, Eric Lawrence, Michele Mangelli, Sally Peyrefitte, Betsy Dietrich, Annie Choi, Matthew Kim, Dapinder Dosanjh. Everyone who provided support and technical insight: Enrico Zini, Sandro Knauss, Daniel Kahn Gillmor, Anna Oswald, Christa Vlad, Aline Girard.

And to all those we might have forgotten: Thank you!

Bonus: Exploring the Tor network

In 2018, we've printed a tabloid sized poster containing the book's chapter about the Tor network. This chapter has since evolved, and is different in the book from 2020. In 2021, the Torproject asked us to update the poster. Here it is: You can download «Catnip explains The Tor Network» (2021) and print it yourself.

Catnip, understanding the Tor network, preview